top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmapark Datça

Education in North Cyprus

The educational system in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus aims to develop fully abilities of all individuals, and can be broadly defined in three parts:

Pre-School Education: Pre-School Education in North Cyprus is provided by kindergartens for children between the ages of 5 and 6.

Primary Education: Primary school education in Northern Cyprus is provided at as elementary school and designed for the 7-11 age-group; it lasts for 5 years and is free and compulsory.

Secondary Education: Secondary Education in North Cyprus is provided at two stages. First Stage (Secondary-Junior) is for children in the 12-14 age-group. It is free and compulsory. Second stage is designed for the 15-17 years old. It is provided by high schools in North Cyprus known as Lycee`s and vocational schools.

Higher Education: The TRNC University education is provided by the Teachers Training College, The Eastern Mediterranean University, Anadolu University, Open Faculty of Economics and Business Administration, Girne American University, Near East University, European University of Lefke and International American University.

Universities in North Cyprus

Eastern Mediterranean University

Eastern Mediterranean University (EMU) of Northern Cyprus is an international university with over 13,500 students from 67 different countries. With more than 1,000 academic staff from around the world (more than 35 nationalities) and modern facilities, the University is committed to maintain and develop international standards of excellence in teaching and research at both undergraduate and graduate levels in North Cyprus.

Near East University

Near East University (NEU) is a private international institution of higher education founded in North Cyprus Nicosia in 1988. The main objective of this institution is to give students a sound education and bring them up as confident and responsible individuals with creative and inquisitive minds. Today Near East University consists of selected students from eighteen different countries. NEU with its ample educational facilities and highly qualified staff from 12 different countries is the only institution of higher education in Nicosia, the capital city of North Cyprus, rendering quality education.

European University of Lefke

The European University of Lefke was founded by the Cyprus Sciences Foundation to be a culturally pluralistic institution of higher education which would provide relevant and attractive educational programs to meet the needs of the diverse students in Northern Cyprus. In addition, the University is situated in campus with full supporting facilities, and is becoming a centre for the cultural and economic development in this area of North Cyprus.

International Cyprus University

International Cyprus University (CIU) in North Cyprus was established in 1996. It is a modern, innovative institution for its students. With all academic and social activities the University's prime commitment is to provide educational facilities to satisfy a modern technological society. With internationally accredited programs and modern campus, CIU attracts students from all over the world.

Girne American University

Girne American University in Northern Cyprus was founded in 1985 as an independent, non-profit institution of higher education. From its establishment, the University has focused on providing access to an American-based higher education to the widest possible group of young learners in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. GAU will continue to be guided by this special mission in the future.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page